The Lux Seekers: Book of Shadows

Facing-Autumn-1-M8GHMZA2VG-1024x768

Chapter 1

I’ve got to escape. Alexa pressed her back against the rough wall and held her breath as she kept to the shadows. The sentry passed mere inches from her hiding spot. She watched him turn the corner. The coast is clear—it’s now or never!

She sprinted down the stone spiral staircase. At the massive oak door, she paused to catch her breath, resting her head against the carving of a dragon coat of arms.

Almost free!

Alexa lifted the heavy iron latch, praying it wouldn’t creak. She pushed and the door swung silently open. A blast of night air enveloped her in the scent of night-blooming jasmine.

Freedom!

“Where do you think you’re going, young lady?”

Busted!

Alexa sighed. It was damned inconvenient having a sorceress for a stepmother. Looks like Sorcha’s in one of her moods … she’s floating … not good!

Sorcha glided from the deep shadows of the palace into the moonlight. She floated above the dew-soaked grass and scowled down at Alexa. “I asked you a question.”

Alexa’s eyes shifted nervously from Sorcha to the safety of the forest. “Um … for a walk?”

“At nearly midnight?” Sorcha gasped. “Inappropriate behavior for a princess of Venestria!”

Alexa clenched her teeth. Princess. Prisoner was more like it. Sucks to be me! She gathered her skirts to make a run for the trees.

Sorcha flashed in front of Alexa, blocking her escape. “Not so fast! Are you sneaking out to meet him?”

Alexa fought the urge to roll her eyes. “His name is Quinn.”

“I knew it!” Sorcha shrieked. “You are sneaking out to meet that forest dweller!”

“Mother, you know they prefer to be called elves.”

Sorcha stabbed her perfectly manicured index finger at Alexa. “You know it is inappropriate for a princess to consort with a common forest dweller. He is beneath you. I forbid you to see him!” She ran her hands down her silky black hair, smoothing it. “Really Alexa, how many times have I told you to call me Sorcha? I am much too young to be a mother. How could I have raised such an ungrateful daughter?”

Alexa nearly choked. “Raised me? I’ve spent more time with nannies than in your company.” Uh oh!

Sorcha’s blue eyes darkened like a coming storm. Her beautiful face looked pale and fierce in the moonlight. “How dare you take that tone with me!” As she spread her arms wide and floated high above Alexa, red sparks shot from her fingertips.

Alexa felt Sorcha’s power—an electric charge in the air and a metallic taste on her tongue. The hairs on the back of her neck stood in warning. Oh shit, she’s going to explode! I’ll have to make a run for it! There was no reasoning with Sorcha in meltdown mode.

The night birds ceased their songs. Time seemed to slow as a chill wind blasted through the trees sending a clear message of alarm: Run, Alexa! Hide in the forest!

She hitched up her skirts in a most unladylike manner, sucked in as deep a breath as her corset would allow, and dashed for the safety of the woods. Her heart pounded wildly as the dark sanctuary of trees engulfed her. As Alexa ran for her life, the trees parted in front of her, then snapped back in place behind her.

From a distance, she heard Sorcha scream in frustration. “We can do this the easy way or the hard way! You can’t hide from me forever, Alexa!”

Alexa grinned as she recalled her stepmother’s irrational fear of the forest. She would not be following.

The full moon cast a silvery glow on the forest path, the same path she had traveled every night for the past year. She followed the trail deep into the woods. Quinn. He’s waiting for me. She quickened her pace. I’m late. Alexa could hear the roar of a waterfall in the distance. Almost there. The soft lace of fern fronds tickled her legs as she passed by. Her heart beat a fast rhythm in time with her running feet. Moss cushioned her footsteps. Alexa shivered. It’s almost midnight. Will he still be waiting for me?

The resinous scent of balsam hung heavy in the air. She brushed a fir bough aside and stepped into the clearing. The spray from the waterfall glistened like pearls in the moonlight. The moon was reflected on the turbulent surface of the fast-flowing river.

On the riverbank near the bottom of the waterfall stood a grove of willow trees, their graceful arc of branches dipping into the water. In front of the largest willow he stood waiting for her.

“Quinn!” Alexa squealed with delight and threw herself into his arms.

He swung her off her feet and kissed her. “What kept you? I was worried.”

“Sorcha caught me sneaking out of the palace. She guessed I was meeting you. We argued and she erupted like a volcano.”

Quinn shook his head. “She still doesn’t approve of me.” He took Alexa by the hand, turned to the willow tree, and pulled aside the curtain of branches.

She slipped between the branches and sat on the blanket Quinn had spread under the tree. With a sigh, she leaned against the willow’s thick gnarled trunk as he joined her on the blanket. She watched as he raked a hand through his shoulder-length brown hair, exposing his pointed ears. She shivered. Sexy elf hotness!

His blue eyes sparkled as he noticed her looking at him. He held out his arms. “Come here.”

Alexa rushed into his embrace and snuggled against his chest. Quinn stroked her long auburn hair. “Maybe we should talk about Sorcha’s concerns. She thinks I’m a peasant. And besides that, she’s worried about our age difference.”

Alexa frowned. “You know I don’t care about our age difference.”

“Maybe you don’t, but there are others who do.”

Alexa’s green eyes widened. “I hope you’re not one of them!”

Quinn looked away. “Sometimes I wonder if you wouldn’t be better off with someone your own age.” He cleared his throat. “And someone your own species.”

Alexa felt tears sting her eyes. “I can’t believe you would think that way! What do species and age have to do with love? And since when is love logical?”

“But maybe Sorcha’s right. Have you ever considered—”

“No! Not being together is not an option.”

Quinn pressed a kiss to her forehead. “There’s something else we need to talk about. I’ve been having these strange dreams. Someone is trying to get a message to me. I’m not sure who he is, but I’m pretty sure he’s not human. He tells me ‘the Seeker must awaken.’”

Alexa frowned. “What does that mean?”

“I’m not sure, but I know the message isn’t mine. I believe it’s meant for you.”

Alexa gasped. “I don’t understand.”

Quinn held her at arm’s length. “The Seeker must awaken. It’s time for you to wake up now, Alexa. Wake up!”

She felt a sense of motion and wind on her face. Her arm spasmed and jerked her out of her trance like state. She found herself lying on the couch of Dr. Nox, her psychiatrist. She felt dazed and confused. “Quinn?”

“You must have been dreaming. How are you feeling now?” Doctor Nox asked.

Alexa struggled to sit up and shake the stiffness from her slow-to-respond limbs. She shook her head trying to clear her thoughts. The dreams always felt so real, but this one—she was still trembling from the power of it. What had Quinn meant by “the Seeker must awaken”?

She turned her gaze to Dr. Nox and pushed an exasperated sigh from her lips. “Why don’t you tell me? I’ve been coming here for five years now because of these vivid dreams. They feel so real. I’m in love with a man who doesn’t exist! Oh, by the way he’s an elf. Apparently I’m insane!”

The doctor chuckled and added some notations to the chart on his clipboard. “I don’t think you’re insane. I do think these dreams are a fantasy world you have built for yourself. They are the way your mind is choosing to deal with the death of your parents.”

Alexa sighed. “I’ve already dealt with the plane crash. I’ve healed. My grandma thinks I’m fine.”

“Apparently not or she wouldn’t keep sending you here. Was there anything different about this dream?”

“Yes. He said, ‘the Seeker must awaken.’ What could that mean?”

The doctor glanced sharply at his watch. “That’s all the time we have today. I’ll see you next week.”

Alexa squeezed her eyes shut and gave a sigh of exasperation.

 

Alexa’s Journal

The dreams are getting worse. They always do in the weeks leading up to my birthday. Sorcha has become increasingly more unstable and erratic—threatening to hurt me.

I know she’s not really my stepmother, but it feels so real. What does she want from me?

If I’m hurt in my dreams, will I be hurt in real life?

Laters,

Alexa

***

“Grandma, these dreams are really bothering me.”

Her grandmother patted her reassuringly on the arm. “There’re just dreams, Alexa. It’s nothing to worry about. Just put them out of your mind.”

Alexa sighed. Grandma never takes my dreams seriously. “Why would I be dreaming about a stepmother named Sorcha?”

A glass slipped from her grandmother’s hand and shattered on the kitchen floor.

“Grandma! Are you okay?”

“It’s nothing! It just slipped. Go finish setting the table.”

Alexa bit her bottom lip. Typical evasive behavior. What is she keeping from me?

The evening meal passed in stony silence. Alexa stabbed at her green beans with her fork. Knowing her grandmother was angry that she had brought up the dreams again, she decided to go for broke. She cleared her throat. “Grandma, can we talk about Mom and Dad?” At her grandmother’s sharp intake of breath, she rushed to add, “Grandma, please, I don’t even remember them. What were they like?” Even though Alexa had heard the stories of her parents many times, it was soothing to hear her grandmother talk about them. Since she did not remember her parents, she treasured every word.

Her grandmother turned to face Alexa with a pained expression. “Your mother, Anya, was an artist. She could manipulate paint on a canvas almost like magic. You get your artistic ability from her. She also loved her flower and herb garden. She had a way with plants. Anya could charm them out of the ground. Your father, Ryan, was the American ambassador to Japan. He had a personality that put people at ease. He also had quite a stubborn streak. You got that from your father. Ryan was totally devoted to Anya. I had never seen a happier couple. And when you came along, they were overjoyed. You were the center of their universe.”

Alexa noticed the tears on her grandmother’s face. She put her hand on her grandmother’s arm. “Grandma, I’m sorry I …”

“It’s all right, Alexa. You were just six when they died. It’s natural that you’re curious about them.” She smoothed Alexa’s hair. “Let’s just finish our meal.”

After Alexa washed the dishes, she climbed the stairs to her room. She flopped onto her bed and fished her cell phone out of her pocket. Out of habit, she hit Krista’s number on speed dial, but pressed end before the call went through. Alexa hit her pillow in frustration. Damn it! I need to talk to someone. She grabbed for her journal on the bedside table and opened it at the ribbon bookmark.

 

Alexa’s Journal

June

Krista is the only one who would understand. She is the only one who is not freaked out by my “gift” of premonition. It’s not that my premonitions of the future have ever been reliable. Since the future is not yet written, any course of action you take can change it. Even doing nothing can change it. I try not to think about it too much … it gives me a headache!

Everyone at school thinks I’m a witch. Not the reputation I was hoping to cultivate in high school. Now I’m on the fast track to being a social leper. Yay me, Lex the Hex!

It’s not like the guys at school were falling over themselves to ask me out. They pretty much avoid me like the plague. High school sucks! I’m hoping this will all blow over during summer vacation. When school starts back, maybe they’ll find someone else to torture. A girl can only dream.

Speaking of dreams, I’ve been having one where Krista and I are fighting over the same guy. Apparently I’m really angry at her for trying to steal the man of my dreams. And how can I be angry at something she hasn’t done yet? Splitting over some guy we haven’t met? That’s crazy! Although, he seems really familiar in my visions. I’m just borrowing trouble.

As if I don’t have enough to worry about with my Quinn situation.

I should forgive Krista. She wasn’t trying to hurt me. But are we still BFs after our fight?

Laters,

Alexa

 

Alexa closed her journal with a sigh. Krista had been her best friend since kindergarten. She was the only one understood Alexa, the only one Alexa told her secrets to. But Krista had recently let Alexa’s premonition secret slip to Selene, who had spread the news to the four winds at Lethe Valley High. To forgive or not to forgive, that is the question. Well, maybe later. For now—World of Wizards here I come! She flipped open her laptop.

An hour later she was on Google. Although she knew it was bordering on the absurd, she had typed in “the Seeker must awaken.” The results? Some fan-fiction sites and many sites dealing with meditation and being spiritually awake. Feeling somewhat out in left field, she typed in “meditation.” Maybe with meditation I can find the meaning of my dreams.

Alexa sat, legs folded in the lotus position, squeezed her eyes shut, and struggled to think of nothing. Nothing … blackness … black … blue … red … green … grass… trees … birds … chicken … steak … pizza … soda … TV … video games … role play … romance … Quinn!

Her eyes popped open. “I can’t do this!” she exclaimed, slapping her hands on her knees. Then she remembered what she had read about meditation: “You do not wait for the calm to meditate. You meditate to find the calm, in the midst of the storm.”

“Okay, let’s try this again.” Alexa closed her eyes. Om, she said in her mind. I like that sound. Oooooommmmmm, she thought, holding the notes out. Oooooommmmmm, Oooooommmmmm, Oooooommmmmm.

Alexa felt her body and mind relax, lulled by the rhythm and the meaning of the word, which was the sound of the Divine Universe. It was the reflection of the absolute reality, it was said to be “Adi Anadi,” without beginning or end and embracing all that exists. Every thought was pushed aside; there was only Om. She felt a sense of motion, of wind on her face, and suddenly she was in the forest.

“Alexa! Thank Goddess you are here! What took you so long? I’ve been so worried.”

“Quinn?” Alexa swayed on her feet and Quinn caught her before she fell to the ground.

He guided her to the tree. “Come sit under the willow with me. Rest; you must be exhausted.”

Alexa sat on the blanket that still covered the ground beneath the willow’s canopy. She shook her head. “I don’t remember how I got here?”

Quinn frowned. “You took the path through the Enchanted Forest, the same one you follow every night.” He grabbed her hands in his. “I’ve had the dream again. He said time is growing short. You are in danger from Sorcha, who wants your Donnii power, and the Seeker must awaken.”

Alexa gave a strained smile. “I think I’m awake.” She waved her hand around. “All this—and you—are the dream.”

Quinn’s eyes widened. “You’re saying I’m just a dream? Is our love just a dream?”

Alexa squeezed her eyes shut. “I don’t know what’s real anymore.”

Quinn caressed her cheek. “I have something for you. I was saving it for your birthday, but I think you need it now.” He reached into his pocket and pulled out a small black box. “This has been in my family for generations. It was my mother’s.” He removed the lid to reveal the gemstone pendant inside.

Alexa felt tears sting her eyes. “It’s beautiful,” she whispered.

The pendant had a silver Celtic Triquetra at the top. Underneath the three loops of the triquetra was an oval moonstone with a small downward-facing triangle of garnet on each side.

“The triquetra stands for the triple aspect of the Goddess—Maiden, Mother, and Crone. The moonstone is a feminine stone dealing with intuition and the power of the moon. Downward-facing triangles symbolize females, and the garnets stand for the blood of sacrifice.” Quinn took the necklace from the box and slipped the chain over her head. Brushing her hair aside, he kissed her neck. “It looks perfect on you. I think it’s time we talk about the future.”

Alexa shook her head. “I don’t want to talk about the future. I just want to enjoy the time we have. Soon I’ll have to go back home. I want to stay with you. I never want to leave you.”

Quinn held her to his chest and stroked her hair. “You’re crying? Tell me what’s wrong.”

“Everything’s wrong,” she sobbed. “I want to stay here with you. I don’t want to go home.”

“I know things are difficult with Sorcha since your father died, but it wouldn’t be proper for you to stay with me, and you’re too young to get married.”

Alexa sighed. “Just how old do I have to be before you’ll marry me?”

Quinn grinned. “At least twenty-one.”

“That will feel like forever!”

Quinn smiled and held her hand. “Tomorrow you’ll be sixteen. Five years isn’t so long to wait.”

“Sez the guy who can live to be six thousand.”

“Hey, I haven’t even reached the century mark yet. You’re making me feel old.”

Alexa put her other hand on his cheek. “Sorry, you don’t look a day over eighteen.”

He took her hand and kissed her palm. “You should go home now. It’s getting late.”

“Home?” Alexa sighed once more. “I prefer this reality to my home.”

She felt the blackness rush forward to swallow her and woke up in her bed. She was no longer sitting in the meditation position. She had fallen back onto the pillows. Guess I fell asleep. Tears slid down her cheeks. With her finger she followed the tracks of her tears down her neck, where she could still feel the metallic sleekness of the pendant Quinn had given her.

“Oh, my God! I’m still wearing it.”

Alexa’s Journal

To say I’m freaked is putting it mildly. Sorcha wants my Donnii power, whatever that is. I think she might hurt me to get it! And Quinn … I thought he was just a dream, but I’m not sure what’s real anymore. What is reality? If you wish hard enough, can it become true? Can I really change reality with a thought? Surely not!

I have an appointment with Dr. Nox today. Five years of therapy and I’m still no closer to unlocking the secrets of my dreams. If I hear “And how does that make you feel?” one more time, I’m going to scream!

Today is the tenth anniversary of my parent’s death. They were flying home from a business trip to Tokyo when the plane went down. They wanted to be with me on my sixth birthday. Maybe that’s why I feel so guilty.

Mom and Dad, I miss you so much! Why can’t I remember you? The only memories I have of you are from my dream life. But that can’t be real, can it?

Krista, I really need you now!

Today is my sixteenth birthday. Happy birthday to me. Whoopty-tap-dancing-do!

Laters,

Alexa

***

Dr. Nox made some notations on his clipboard. “And how does that make you feel?”

Seated on his couch, Alexa resisted the strong urge to punch the pillows and scream.

“Is there something wrong, Alexa?”

“I don’t know if this therapy is doing me any good. The dreams are getting worse. The line between dream and reality is getting thin. I’m not sure what is real anymore.”

“Would you like to elaborate on that?”

Alexa shrugged. “Not unless I wanted a quiet vacation in a padded cell! I wonder if you could tell me what a Donnii is?”

Dr. Nox looked at his watch. “Perhaps it is time to tell you. Today is your sixteenth birthday, after all. I know it is especially hard for you, considering it’s also the tenth anniversary of your parents’ death.”

Alexa winced. It felt like she had taken a hit to the stomach. “Thanks for the reminder.”

Doctor Nox looked up from his clipboard. “Donnii means a witch, a high priestess actually.”

Alexa smirked. “Witches aren’t real.”

“Actually they are quite real.”

“Very funny.”

Doctor Nox leaned forward in his chair. “Just because you haven’t experienced something doesn’t mean it does not exist. ‘There are more things between heaven and hell than you could possible imagine.’” He began writing on a prescription pad. “I have something for you.”

Alexa shook her head. Five years of evasive answers from him and suddenly he goes all Yoda on me. And what fresh hell is this? More meds? “Thanks, but no thanks. I’m already taking meds for depression. I don’t need anything else.”

The doctor continued to write. “This is not a scrip for meds. This is a different kind of prescription.” He tore the page off the pad and handed it to Alexa. “Follow the instructions exactly and everything will be fine.”

Alexa’s watch alarm sounded. She jumped up from the couch. “Omigosh! I’m going to be late for practice!” She grabbed the note Doctor Nox held out to her, stuffed it in her pocket, and headed for the door.

“Alexa, wait! It’s very important that you read the note now.”

“No time. I’m late already.”

Alexa ran for the elevator and jabbed at the down button. She tapped her foot impatiently as she waited for the elevator car to ascend to the fourteenth floor. Feeling curious, she fished the note out of her pocket and began reading.

“Many dimensions before me fall,

That I may travel between them all.

Show me the path, the Blessing Way trace,

That I may go from place to place.

Reveal to me the way today,

That I may trace the path I pray.

It is time now. The Seeker must awaken.

“What the hell?” she said aloud. She frowned and read the note again. It still made no sense.

A ding announced the arrival of the elevator car. Alexa pushed the lobby button, walked to the back of the car, and leaned against the wall. Green Day’s “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” droned out of the speakers. Alexa grimaced. Should be illegal to transform cool songs into Muzak!

The elevator stopped at the next floor to let someone on, but Alexa was too distracted to notice.

As the doors closed, she heard a woman’s voice ask, “Going down?”

Alexa’s head snapped up. She looked into the icy blue eyes of the woman who had haunted her nightmares for years. “Sorcha?” But she can’t be here, she’s not real.

“Oh, but I am real, sweetness.”

“How did you—”

“Know what you were thinking?” Sorcha laughed. “It’s a gift. I’ll take that note now.”

Alexa shoved it back in her pocket as Sorcha grabbed her other wrist.

“I told you before—we can do this the easy way or the hard way.”

Alexa gasped. “But that was just a dream!”

“Silly girl, when will you learn that dreams are powerful? They are a portal to other realms. Lucky for me, you are too thick to understand what Nox was trying to communicate to you. Now, give me that note!”

Alexa jerked her arm away from Sorcha. “No! I’m not afraid of you!”

Sorcha sighed. “You mortals are always so predictable. You think your logic can save you?” She snapped her fingers and the lights in the elevator began to dim. “You’re in my world, now.” She advanced on Alexa. “You still don’t get it. You will never be free of me until you give me what I came for. I will always find you. I will never stop.”

“What do you want?”

“Your Donnii power. It is rightfully mine! I wasted years of my life being a mother to you. I demand payment.” Sorcha put her hands around Alexa’s neck and began to squeeze. “See what you’re making me do?”

Alexa clawed at Sorcha’s fingers, fighting to break free. The light dimmed further as Sorcha continued to squeeze. Alexa felt her eyes bulging out of their sockets; she could see bursts of light exploding in front of her. She felt her strength leave her as her arms fell uselessly to her sides. She felt the sensation of falling—the blackness was swallowing her whole.

Very faintly she heard Quinn’s voice calling to her. “The Seeker must awaken. It’s time to wake up now. Hurry, Alexa. Wake up!”

Alexa awoke in her bed—in the mortal world—heart pounding and sweat beading on her brow. Bolting upright, she coughed violently and finally managed to drag in a few ragged gulps of air. Outside her bedroom window, the rising sun’s rays colored the sky a soft purple.

She threw back the comforter and ran to the bathroom. Flicking on the lights, Alexa gasped at her reflection. Her eyes were wild with fright. My neck… She pulled her long auburn hair back from her neck revealing two red handprints where she had been strangled. They were just beginning to turn an angry purple. “Oh. My. God.”

Back in her room, she got into bed and grabbed her journal from the bedside table. Alexa opened it at the ribbon bookmark and dated a new page, July 1. She frantically scribbled the contents of the note into her journal before she forgot, and then continued:

Alexa’s Journal

July 1st

I’m just a regular girl living with my grandmother in Lethe Valley, Ohio. I don’t live in Venestria. I don’t have an elf lover. I’m not in therapy and I’m not a witch!

 

Alexa slammed the journal shut as tears flowed down her face. The lines were beginning to blur between her dreams and reality. “What is happening to me?” She brushed the tears from her cheeks. “Maybe I do need therapy?” Five years and countless journals are filled with my dreams. Yet I’ve never revealed the dreams or my journals to Grandma; only Krista knows. She gently touched her neck and winced. How would she explain the hand prints? She stuffed the journal into her book bag.

Alexa got up and went to her bathroom to get dressed for the day. She looked into the mirror and sighed. She struggled with the elastic for her ponytail. Then she carefully applied foundation and powder to her neck, hiding the purple bruises. Obviously there’s more to my life than I’ve been told. What part is real and what is a lie?

She grabbed her book bag on the way out of her bedroom. I’ll go to the waterfall and settle this once and for all.

About bookwitch9

YA fiction writer. Dreamer of Dreams.

Posted on May 30, 2013, in The Lux Seekers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a great idea! At first, I thought it sounded a bit too much like a fantasy, but as soon as it was revealed that it actually was a type of fantasy/dream, it made much more sense. I liked the flip and the blurring of reality. The only problem I felt was that it rushes to give you a lot of information at once, and some of that explanation feels unnatural. Overall, tho, it’s a great start on an interesting concept 🙂

Leave Wordy Goodness...